Poised on the northern edge of campus, the new Admissions Office & Visitor’s Center at Longwood University in Farmville, Virginia is designed to sensitively respond to two different contextual fabrics: Longwood’s campus and the Town of Farmville. This building site was strategically chosen because it is directly across High Street from Ruffner Hall, the honorific “old main” of the campus. As the only University-commissioned building on the north side of High Street, it serves as an intentional hinge between town and gown, institution and neighborhood.
Longwood University also commissioned the architectural team to design a monument to the expansion of American liberty. It celebrates the consequential history of Farmville, and honors founding father Patrick Henry, the freed-slave community of Israel Hill, and courageous Civil Rights pioneer Barbara Johns, along with the generation of students who sacrificed years of public education in their legal fight to defeat school segregation.
The building extends the University’s Jeffersonian Classical tradition, offering a recognizable front door to the campus experience and making a strong visual connection with the character of the historic campus. The building’s scale, massing, and details also respond to the adjacent historic residential fabric. The building’s wings, pitched slate roof and chimneys evoke a residential quality and a welcoming first impression, while the main “house” draws upon Palladian-Jeffersonian inspired civic proportions which relate to the scale of the historic campus.
On the interior a dramatic double-height space greets visitors while flanking sitting areas, each with fireplace, provides a more intimate setting. Expressive detailing and visual displays introduce potential new students to Longwood’s history and mission. Two presentation rooms provide a place for Longwood to address prospective students and their families. Overall, the building communicates the school’s vision to ‘develop citizen leaders prepared to make positive contributions to the common good.’
THE DESIGN TEAM has worked closely with Pinehurst Resort for nearly a decade to create and execute an architectural and conceptual master plan. In 2012, we began select aspects of the renovations including dining and ballrooms that overlook the iconic number 2 course by design legend Donald Ross. The project was unveiled at the 2014 U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open. The renovations have resulted in a 30 percent surge in club membership.
The concept for the interior design was to create a space that celebrates nature and the storied past of Pinehurst by introducing a fresh interpretation of traditional and organic motifs. Interior finishes, furniture, and lighting were selected to brighten the space, provide moments of hand-crafted design, and create an atmosphere that provides the backdrop to the Southern hospitality felt by all who visit.
The color palette mimics nature through the use of greens with accents of blue and red. A floral Morris fabric pattern was selected for the drapery in the ballroom. This fabric frames the true beauty which is seen beyond the windows. Handcrafted pine cone tiles, paired with red brick added texture and character, all while giving the illusion that the fireplace had been there since Pinehurst was first built. Hardwood floors, painted finishes, simple fabric, upholstery, and carpet specifications in a classic pallet keeps the room simple, fresh, and easy to maintain.
COMPLETED IN the late spring of 2015, the renovation of the Hotel Roanoke pool expands the services offered by the hotel as well as the architectural language and materials of the area. The project creates a wide variety of guest environments with shade structures standing opposite open sunning areas and intimate spaces of varying scales to enhance the multi-functional aspect of the space. The existing pool and hot tub become year round water features, framed with an arcade designed to be experienced from within and also as part of the pedestrian arrival sequence. This arcade provides private rooms enclosed with drapery, perhaps creating a venue for spa services or just relaxing in the shade. A seating area at the north end of the space takes advantage of borrowed views while the overhead structure draws inspiration from photographs depicting the steel frame reconstruction of the hotel in 1937. This corner of the Hotel Roanoke is no longer just a pool area but a four season landscape of multiple amenities.
This was designed in partnership with FourWinds Landscape Design.
GLAVÉ & HOLMES ARCHITECTURE (G&HA) collaborated with CMMI to renovate the Colonial Williamsburg Lodge, a structure originally built in 1938. The entire project was completed in four phases and includes 323 guest rooms, lobby, reception, business offices, and a gift shop. The new conference center includes a 12,000-square-foot ballroom, a 7,000-square-foot ballroom, conference rooms, banquet facilities, and a full service restaurant supported by a catering kitchen and back-of-house functions. The restored 1938 Lodge entry faces onto a landscaped arrival court, which welcomes guests and visitors in a gracious, pedestrian friendly manner. The new additions complement the original building, creating a complex of hospitality appropriately scaled to the character of Williamsburg.
G&HA worked with Mimi Sadler of Sadler & Whitehead Architects and the Department of Historic Resources on the submittal for State Rehabilitation Tax Credits. This process led to Part 2 approval of tax credits. As a result, all historic fabric was retained in the two original buildings while the new elements were contextually designed to respect the existing in scale and materials.
THE WASHINGTON DUKE INN & GOLF CLUB is a Four-Star, Four-Diamond hotel, built in the style of an old English country inn. The hotel is nestled on a 300-acre site and situated in the heartland of North Carolina on the campus of Duke University. The Inn features the Duke University Golf Course, 271 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, the award-winning Fairview Dining Room, and superb meeting facilities to accommodate groups from 20 to 600 people.
Over the years, Glavé & Holmes Architecture (G&HA) built an intimate relationship with “the Inn” to complete multiple interior design projects, including the Fairview Dining Room, the Bull Durham Bar, the Ambassador Ballroom, the Presidential Ballroom, the Conference Center, Guest Rooms and Suites, offices, and the Pro-Shop.
GLAVÉ & HOLMES ARCHITECTURE (G&HA) was commissioned to adapt and reuse the former Rockefeller Folk Art Museum into a new spa and fitness center to serve the Williamsburg Inn and the Williamsburg Lodge. Colonial Williamsburg Foundation’s goal to provide and enhance amenities in this vintage two-building complex serves the needs of tourists and business travelers. Extensive interior renovations were required to convert these structures into a 4-star luxury spa. Working in conjunction with WTS International Spa Consultants, the new spa includes 12 treatment rooms, expansive wet room amenities in all locker rooms, a salon, and fitness areas for equipment and group fitness. An existing sunken garden, pool, and other surrounding elements were incorporated into this renovation.
THE PRESIDENTIAL SUITE was inspired by Pinehurst founder, James Walker Tufts’ transcendentalist belief in the transformative power of nature. Nature-inspired motifs, such as leaves and vines, are a leitmotif throughout the space. Comfortable elegance, luxurious amenities, and state-of-the-art entertainment components easily mesh with the organic design to create a memorable experience for guests. In over a century of the resort’s long history, the Presidential Suite is the first of its caliber.
GLAVÉ & HOLMES has collaborated with Pinehurst Resort in the Village of Pinehurst, North Carolina for more than five years on a comprehensive restoration and refurbishment of their five main buildings; the Holly Inn of 1895, the Carolina Hotel of 1901, and later structures such as the Member’s Country Club, the Manor Inn, and the Golf Villas. The process has been governed by a Conceptual Master Plan executed in 2006 following an extensive process of research, team charrettes, and presentations to the owner and major stakeholders. This process followed Glavé & Holmes’ proprietary P.O.E.T.I.C. Design Method in which the designers, architects, and key resort professionals examine the Place, Occupants, and the Experience in order to codify this information into a Transcendent Idea that guides the process and generates Concepts. This methodology assures that all decisions from architecture, interior design, FF&E, signage, branding, landscape, and even resort programming are unified under a single, clearly defined identity.
THE CAROLINA DINING ROOM had become dated after years of hard use. Glavé & Holmes Architecture (G&HA) took on the challenge of renovating and refurbishing the space, working in tandem with a local architectural firm. Everything was renewed or replaced except for the luxurious Venetian glass chandeliers, which have added glamour to the room for a half-century. The G&HA design concept honors the architecture of the venerated space, but has freshened and lightened the former palette.
New carpet with a foliate design references the Transcendental Movement and the original design language of Frederick Law Olmstead, who designed the resort, along with the Boston architectural firm of Kendall, Taylor, and Stevens. The chairs and tables were replaced and the chairs were embellished with an embroidered floral fabric made in India for Stroheim fabrics. The window treatments are a sporty blue and white stripe and complement the yellow walls and the garden views that include a new courtyard with a central fountain.
The silver-plate serving vessels in the entrance of the room are from the Tufts Company, one of the many successful enterprises established by Pinehurst founder, James Walker Tufts. The art program tells the story of Pinehurst in photography and a collection of period menus, which feature holiday feasts and depression era pricing. The renovation was conceived comprehensively along with the rebranding of the restaurant, the recreation of a more casual and relaxed environment and a new menu with a focus on fresh, local, farm-to-table ingredients.
THE 1895 GRILLE in the Holly Inn at Pinehurst is one of the most iconic spaces surviving from the resort’s 1895 beginnings. The Glavé & Holmes Architecture (G&HA) design team was sensitive to this history when commissioned to redesign and expand the beloved restaurant. New millwork and beams were carefully crafted and stained to complement the originals, and unique materials such as hand-blocked wallpapers from England, fabrics from Italy, and a custom carpet helped to achieve historical veracity.
The pierced-back chair with its tulip poplar motif (after a prevalent North Carolina species) is a bespoke piece inspired by Arts and Crafts architect, Charles Voysey.